Apr 2019


As we’ve observed changes in how the generosity of Canadians is being expressed over the last few years, it begs the question if the relevance of the charitable sector is starting to get lost a little. Do Canadians really understand the essentialness of what we do and what our impact is…and what society would look like without us?  And so, similar to the way organizations build a “case for support” for themselves, there has been an awakening of late for the need to “advocate”, educate and build a case for our sector as a whole.

In this episode, we speak to three sector leaders about this issue.  We hear from Sandy Richardson, CEO and Lori Elder, Board Director, about how the Victoria Foundation’s recently released report, Civil Society Impact: Measuring the Economic and Social Activity in the Victoria Capital Region, has built a compelling case for the sector in Victoria. And we hear from Bruce MacDonald, President and CEO of Imagine Canada, who shares the pan-Canadian perspective of the need for and impact of the sector across the country…including a part of the story we don’t often talk about – our economic impact.

For more information on the future of Canada’s social deficit, read Imagine Canada’s discussion paper Charities, Sustainable Funding and Smart Growth.

Subscribe to The Ask /

Our Locations

214 King Street West, Suite 402, Toronto, ON M5H 3S6
T/ 416.340.9710
F/ 416.340.9755
toronto@kciphilanthropy.com

1200 McGill College Avenue, Suite 1100, Montreal, QC H3B 4G7
T/ 514.954.9727
F/ 514.393.9069
montreal@kciphilanthropy.com

840-6th Avenue S.W., Suite 300, Calgary, AB T2P 3E5
T/ 403.233.0761
F/ 403.233.0765
calgary@kciphilanthropy.com

400 – 1681 Chestnut Street, Vancouver, B.C. V6J 4M6
T/ 604.682.5470
vancouver@kciphilanthropy.com

1959 Upper Water Street, Suite 1301,
Purdy’s Wharf Tower, Halifax, NS B3J 3N2
T/ 902.491.4288
F/ 902.482.3600
halifax@kciphilanthropy.com

10180 – 101 Street, Suite 3400,
Edmonton, AB T5J 3S4
T/ 780.702.1240
F/ 780.423.2368
edmonton@kciphilanthropy.com

275 Slater Street, Suite 900, Ottawa, ON K1P 5H9
T/ 613.742.0485
F/ 613.236.3754
ottawa@kciphilanthropy.com

Connect With Us